Venice Film Festival 2023 Winners

The 80th Venice Film Festival, held in Italy, showcased the best of the film industry despite the challenges posed by an industry-wide strike. The festival provided a platform for independent filmmakers to shine and brought attention to their upcoming projects. The event featured a prestigious jury, including directors Jane Campion and Martin McDonagh, who deliberated and awarded films in various categories, including the coveted Golden and Silver Lion. See the live updates on Venice Film Festival 2023 Winners

Venice Film Festival 2023 Winners

Main Competition

Best Film
Poor Things, Yorgos Lanthimos

Grand Jury Prize
Evil Does Not Exist, Ryusuke Hamaguchi 

Best Director
Matteo Garrone, Io Capitano

Special Jury Prize
Green Border, Agnieszka Holland

Best Screenplay
Guillermo Calderon, Pablo Larrain, El Conde

Best Actress
Cailee Spaeny, Priscilla

Best Actor
Peter Sarsgaard, Memory

Best Young Actor
Seydou Sarr, Io Capitano

Orizzonti (Horizons)

Best Film
Explanation for Everything — Gabor Reisz

Best Director
Mika Gustafson — Paradiset Brinner (Paradise is Burning)

Special Jury Prize
Una Sterminata Domenica — Alain Parroni

Best Actress
Margarita Rosa De Francisco, El Paraíso

Best Actor
Tergel Bold-Erdene, City of Wind

Best Screenplay
El Paraíso — Enrico Maria Artale

Best Short Film
A Short Trip — Erenik Beqiri

Lion of the Future — Venice Award for a Debut Film
(Al Shi Yi Ba Qiang) Love Is a Gun — Lee Hong-Ch

Orizzonti Extra

Audience Award
Felicita — Micheala Ramazotti

Venice Classics
Best Documentary on Cinema
Thank You Very Much — Alex Braverman

Best Restored Film
Ohikkoshi (Moving) — Shinji Somae

Venice Immersive
Grand Prize
Songs for a Passerby — Celine Daemen

Special Jury Prize
Flow — Adriaan Lokman

Achievement prize
Emperor — Marion Burger, Ilan Cohen

Golden Lion: Yorgos Lanthimos’ “Poor Things”

Yorgos Lanthimos, known for his acclaimed film “The Favorite,” took home the coveted Golden Lion for his latest work, “Poor Things.” Starring Emma Stone, Willem Dafoe, and Ramy Youssef, the film is based on Alasdair Gray’s novel and follows the story of Bella Baxter, portrayed by Stone, who is brought to life by the brilliant scientist played by Dafoe. Lanthimos dedicated the award to Stone, hailing her as an “incredible creature” and praising her performance both in front of and behind the camera.

Silver Lion Grand Jury Prize: Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s “Evil Does Not Exist”

Japanese filmmaker Ryusuke Hamaguchi received the Silver Lion Grand Jury Prize for his film “Evil Does Not Exist,” a follow-up to his acclaimed work “Drive My Car.” The film explores thought-provoking themes and captivated the jury with its compelling storytelling.

Matteo Garrone Wins Silver Lion for Best Director

Matteo Garrone was recognized with the Silver Lion for Best Director for his film “Io Capitano.” The film showcases Garrone’s exceptional directorial skills and his ability to bring compelling narratives to the screen.

Special Jury Prize: Agnieszka Holland’s “Green Border”

Agnieszka Holland’s “Green Border” received the Special Jury Prize. The film captivated the jury with its unique storytelling and thought-provoking exploration of relevant societal issues.

Best Screenplay: Pablo Larrain and Guillermo Calderón’s “El Conde”

Pablo Larrain and Guillermo Calderón were awarded Best Screenplay for their work on “El Conde.” The film’s screenplay impressed the jury with its compelling narrative and insightful exploration of complex themes.

Cailee Spaeny Takes Home Best Actress for “Priscilla”

Cailee Spaeny’s remarkable performance in Sofia Coppola’s “Priscilla” earned her the Best Actress award. Spaeny expressed her gratitude and acknowledged her muse, Priscilla Presley, in her acceptance speech.

Peter Sarsgaard Wins Best Actor for “Memory”

Peter Sarsgaard delivered an exceptional performance in “Memory” and was awarded the Best Actor title. In his speech, Sarsgaard touched on the ongoing strikes within the industry and emphasized the importance of human connection in the art of storytelling.

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress: Seydou Sarr

Seydou Sarr was recognized with the Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress for his role in “Io Capitano.” Sarr’s talent and potential were acknowledged by the jury.

Horizons: Exploring New Frontiers in Cinema

The Horizons section of the Venice Film Festival celebrated innovative and boundary-pushing cinema. Gabor Reisz’s “Explanation For Everything” was awarded Best Film, while Mika Gustafson received the Best Director title for “Paradise Is Burning.” Alain Parroni’s “Una Sterminata Domenica” received the Special Jury Prize. Margarita Rosa De Francisco and Tergel Bold-Erdene won Best Actress and Best Actor, respectively, for their exceptional performances. Enrico Maria Artale’s screenplay for “El Paraiso” was recognized as the Best Screenplay. Erenik Beqiri’s “A Short Trip” won Best Short Film. The Lion of the Future – Luigi De Laurentiis Award for a Debut Film was awarded to Lee Hong-Chi for “Love Is a Gun.” The Audience Award in the Horizons Extra category went to Micheala Ramazotti’s “Felicita.”

Venice Classics: Celebrating the Masters of Cinema

The Venice Classics section paid tribute to the masters of cinema, showcasing documentaries and restored films. Alex Braverman’s “Thank You Very Much” won Best Documentary, while Shinji Somae’s “Ohikkoshi (Moving)” was recognized as the Best Restored Film.

Venice Immersive: Pushing Boundaries in Virtual Reality

The Venice Immersive program featured groundbreaking virtual reality experiences. Celine Daemen’s “Songs For A Passerby” received the Grand Jury Prize, Adriaan Lokman’s “Flow” was awarded the Special Jury Prize, and Marion Burger and Ilan Cohen’s “Emperor” won the Immersive Achievement Prize.

The 2023 Venice Film Festival showcased exceptional talent and celebrated the diverse and innovative world of cinema. Despite the challenges faced by the industry, the festival highlighted the resilience and creativity of filmmakers, leaving audiences inspired and eagerly anticipating the future of film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *